SBAA International Small Business Summit 2023 – Small Business Association of Australia

Sbaa international
small business
summit 2023

21/22 September Deakin Downtown, Melbourne CBD More Information

Working Together

To compete in today’s ever-changing and challenging world, small businesses must adopt a sophisticated approach, and governments must provide an operating environment.

The Summit will provide the unique opportunity for direct collaboration between thought leaders, industry, policy-makers and grass-roots business owners to investigate and solve the real and tangible issues currently affecting the SMEs Sector.

Message from Anne Nalder
SBAA CEO & Founder

A cordial invitation is extended to join me at Deakin University for our biannual SBAA International Small Business Summit (Summit).

The Summit is the only one of its kind in Australia where every attending delegate can contribute to the conversation and make a difference.

This event is about making and contributing to better outcomes and better ways for our small business community who make up 98% of all businesses in Australia.

Purpose of the Event

The purpose of the Summit is to lay the foundations for good policies including new ideas, best business practices and ease of doing business for small businesses particularly doing trade with global economies.

96-99.7% of all businesses in contemporary economies are small businesses meaning they make up the bulk of businesses – globally. As an example, between Australian and Japanese small businesses, they make up approximately 6.5million small businesses. They are the economy.

Event Details


  • Industry Lunch – Wednesday 20 September 12pm-3pm
  • Two–day Summit – Thursday 21 September and Friday 22 September 8am-5pm


  • Industry Lunch – Parliament House, Spring Street, East Melbourne Victoria
  • Two–day Summit – Deakin Downtown Tower 2, Level 12, 727 Collins Street, the Docklands, Melbourne Victoria

Keynote Speakers & Panelists

Anne Nalder

Founder & CEO Small Business Association of Australia

Lynda McAlary-Smith

Commissioner Victorian Small Business Commission (VSBC)

Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash

Senator for Western Australia, Shadow Attorney-General,Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate

Mr Jamie Wilson

CEO Cryptoloc Data Security

Dr Luca De Leonardis

Head of Business and Talent Attraction and Investment Promotion InvestHK – Hong Kong Government

The Hon Bruce Billson

Ombudsman Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman

Patrick Coghlan

CEO CreditorWatch

Andrew Kernebone

Director of Presales, Asia Pacific GoTo Technologies Australia

Dominique Lamb

Queensland Small Business Commissioner Queensland Small Business Commissioner’s Office

Aishwarya Somal

Director Emerson Migration Law and Global Pathways Education and Migration Service

Anthony Cerantonio

Principal Partner Forensic Accounting Group

Carol Hanlon

Founder / CEO Belmont BEC Inc & TCFWA Inc

Lisa Sweeney

CEO / Director Business in Heels International Pty Ltd

George Tanewski

Professor in Accounting Director & Research Leader IPA- Deakin SME Research Centre Deakin University

Gjoko Muratovski

Director, Digital Futures Deakin University

Bill Lang

Executive Director Small Business Australia

Jo Ingold

Associate Professor of HRM Deakin University Business School

Senator Malcom Roberts

Queensland Senator

Dr Wade Halvorson

Theme Director SMEs & Entrepreneurship Deakin Business School

Andrea North-Samardzic

Director, Women’s Entrepreneurship Research Alliance Deakin University

Dr Kristijan Mirkovski

Assistant Professor at Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics Deakin Business School

Lloyd Polkinghorne

Director Koondrook Barham Bridge

Dr Rita Anwari

Founder / Director Women Empowerment and Leadership Association

The Hon Dr Andrew Leigh MP

Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury Assistant Minister for Employment Australian Government

Colin Coverdale

Founding Director Institute Small Business Owners

Dr Brett Freudenberg

Professor – Tax Griffith University

Megan Flower

CEO Landscaping Victoria Master Landscapers

Emeka Edwin-Nweze

CEO and Managing Director Neta Care PTY LTD

Professor Charles Qin

Managing Director Chin Communications

Vivienne Nguyen

Chairperson Victorian Multicultural Commission

Vajira Jayasooriya

Executive Partner Austral Accountants

Will Abdo

CEO Webtrade Marketing Pty Ltd

Jan Ford

Founder NuCleanEnergy

Julian (Jolly) Day

Founder and CEO Consensus Awards

Jane Fahey

Head of Quality Assurance, Professional Practice Portfolio Deakin University

Nina Hoang

Senior Associate FCW Lawyers

Dr David Honey MLA

Shadow Minister for Small Business Liberal Party of WA

Bert Van Manen MP

Chief Opposition Whip, Federal Member for Forde Commonwealth of Australia

Collins Mayaki

CEO Wealthy You

Small Business Charter of Australia

The Small Business Charter of Australia (the Charter) contains Ten Pillars and is the framework for policy makers resulting in drafting sustainable and suitable policy for small business.

Think ‘Small Business First ‘when drafting legislation.

The topics discussed during the Summit are based on one of each of the Ten Pillars.

  • 01


  • 02

    Industrial Relations(IR)

  • 03


  • 04


  • 05


  • 06


  • 07


  • 08


  • 09

    Education and Training

  • 10

    Climate Change/Energy



$199 – 2 Day Summit Pass for Members

  • 2 Day Summit Pass 21 – 22 September 2023
  • Morning Tea, Lunch and Afternoon Tea
  • Networking


$419 – 2 Day Summit Pass for Members Plus Industry Lunch

  • 2 Day Summit Pass
  • Morning Tea, Lunch and Afternoon Tea
  • Networking
  • Industry Lunch on 20 September 2023


$280 – 2 Day Summit Pass for Non – Members

  • 2 Day Summit Pass 21 – 22 September 2023
  • Morning Tea, Lunch and Afternoon Tea
  • Networking


$550 – 2 Day Summit Pass for Non – Members Plus Industry Lunch

  • 2 Day Summit Pass
  • Morning Tea, Lunch and Afternoon Tea
  • Networking
  • Industry Lunch on 20 September 2023

Our Valued Sponsors